An Education

So our short time in London has come to an end.  I can hardly believe 18 months has gone by.  While living abroad, I’ve learned about myself, others, nations, culture.  I’ve seen the pyramids in Egypt, the hills of Ireland, countless castles and was whisked away on the two hour Eurostar train to Paris for the weekend.  My daughter talks often of the “great big world we live in and how many places there are to see, like Egypt, and Spain and California and London.”  My challenge now will be keeping the perspective fresh for her, and instilling this perspective in her younger brother as he grows.
As much as I miss my family, travel is what makes me tick.  It is what I love, what I live for.  Sure I also missed many of the American comforts, like large washing machines, clothes dryers, “lazy boy” like driver’s seats, even driving a car.  But I love travel.  Folks may say it has made me more worldly or smart (clever, as they’d say in England), but really it has been an education.  To live in London, as cosmopolitan as it is, has been an education on people, culture, nations, races.  I was lucky to have the opportunity and hope to have the chance to live abroad again.  What a fantastic way to learn!
Sitting in a café as I wrote some of this, I was thinking how I’ll miss my cappuccino and pain au chocolat, our lovely child care provider who has given me the freedom to write (and exercise regularly!) a couple mornings a week, who the children absolutely adore.And there are more practical things I will miss:  Walking everywhere; more free museums than one can imagine; finding green parks everywhere; groceries and milk delivered to my door; my daughter’s fabulous pre-school.What I will not miss:  Walking everywhere; traffic jams all hours of the day; our tiny flat; finding no grocery stores open past 5pm on Sundays.
While this is the end of living abroad (for now!), it is not the end of my blog, as I have so much more to write about, like our Eurostar adventure to Paris; our beautiful long weekend in Ireland, and quirky things like what the heck are “man size” tissues?  And some new topics to talk about too.  I hope you’ll keep in touch as we re-acclimate to American life.

About expatmama

Karla Oselka Walsworth is a freelance writer/blogger, born and raised in the great state of Michigan. She has lived abroad twice, most recently in London, and keeps a blog on Expat living and traveling with children, www.expatmama.wordpress.com. Living in the last five years in four different cities, her writings tend to focus on challenges of moving/living with children while exposing them to all this planet has to offer. Karla, who has her MBA from the University of Illinois, and is also a certified 200 hour yoga instructor, has settled (for this moment) in the Midwest. As a recovering accountant and budding writer, she is actively raising two children with her husband Eric, hoping to give them as global a perspective as one can, at ages 7 and 4.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An Education

  1. Pam Oselka says:

    This is such a great synopsis of your 18 months in London. As happy as we are to have you back, I also love travel, and understand completely your desire tp see more, and have your children see more.
    Love,
    Mom

  2. clay says:

    Good timing on visiting Egypt! Glad you missed all the turmoil.

  3. Oh Karla! I am just heading to London and hoped to see you there! Had no idea you’d moved back. It sounds like you had an amazing time there. What ‘hood did you live in? I am speaking at the World Travel Market (east side) and need some lodging suggestions!
    Hope all is well in MI!
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

